Discovering Deborah Levy

“I want to be master of my own fuck-ups.”
― Beautiful Mutants

“As much as I try to make the past keep still and mind its manners, it moves and murmurs with me through every day.”
― Swimming Home

“She was not a poet. She was a poem.”
― Swimming Home

“Be sure to enjoy language, experiment with ways of talking, be exuberant even when you don’t feel like it because language can make your world a better place to live.”
― Pillow Talk in Europe and Other Places

“To become a WRITER I had to learn to INTERRUPT, to speak up, to speak a little louder, and then LOUDER, and then to just speak in my own voice which is NOT LOUD AT ALL.”
― Things I Don’t Want to Know

“It is dishonest to give me a poem and pretend to want my opinion when what you really want are reasons to live.”
― Swimming Home

Leave a Reply

